Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

For last year's postseason (and this year's regular season), the NFL adopted a new sudden death format.

The following approved ruling for a safety on an opening possession states:

A.R. 16.19 SAFETY

Third-and-5 on A7. On the opening possession of overtime, A1 is tackled in his own end zone for a safety.

Ruling: Game over. Team B wins. Both teams have met the minimum requirements for possession.

How has both teams met the minimum requirements for possession in this case? If Team B records a safety, then (given they kicked the ball off to Team A to start overtime) they do not technically ever have possession.

Possession: Actual possession of the ball with complete control. The defense gains possession when it catches, intercepts, or recovers a loose ball.

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

The rule regarding safeties in overtime is actually explicitly laid out in the overtime rules (Rule 16, Section 1, Article 3):

(a) Both teams must have the opportunity to possess the ball once during the extra period, unless the team that receives the opening kickoff scores a touchdown on its initial possession, in which case it is the winner, or if the team kicking off to start the overtime period scores a safety on the receiving team's initial possession, in which case the team that kicked off is the winner.

share|improve this answer
beat me too it! – Chad Sep 26 '12 at 18:57
@Chad I hate it when that happens, hence me furiously typing out the rules to get it up quick. SE sites have improved my typing speed. :-) – SocioMatt Sep 26 '12 at 19:02
I guess if you want to think about it that way, sure. But ultimately, the rules simply state that a safety ends the game on the first possession of overtime. – SocioMatt Sep 26 '12 at 19:04
misread the question. The safety is on the initial drive, it'd be hard to record one on a kickoff anyways). – wax eagle Sep 26 '12 at 19:51

A safety ends the game based on simple logic:

Since the team scoring on a safety gains possession of the ball following it. Possession is unnecessary in this case because as soon as the ball is kicked off the requirements for both teams to possess the ball has been fulfilled and the team currently in possession is ahead (so no need to attempt to tie/win).

share|improve this answer
Along the simple logic, I had thought that if Team B scored a safety and they needed possession, Team A punting to Team B would fulfill the opportunity...but is irrelevant because of Rule 16, Section 1, Article 3. – ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Sep 26 '12 at 20:22
The team scoring the safety would not necessarily gain possession, but would by definition automatically have an "opportunity to possess" the ball, even if the team losing the safety were to attempt an onside kick. – supercat Oct 3 '14 at 18:47

Yes, a kickoff is considered an opportunity of possession.

share|improve this answer
Not for the New Overtime rules it is not. – Chad Sep 26 '12 at 19:09
Welcome to Sports.SE! Can you support your assertion in some way? – Michael Myers Sep 26 '12 at 20:07
If a kickoff is considered an "opportunity of possession," then the receiving team could score a field goal to win...which isn't the case. – ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Sep 26 '12 at 20:12
Okay to reanswer my question, the answer is bool kickoff_is_opportunity_of_possession = ( oldOverTimeRules ) ? true : false; – Chris Okyen Sep 26 '12 at 23:38
I see. return null; – ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Sep 27 '12 at 0:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.