Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

What happens if during a kickoff, the kicker kicks the ball through the uprights?

These are the two situations I think this is possible:

  1. The game kick-off
  2. Kick after touchdown
share|improve this question
1  
By "score a goal", do you mean if the kickoff travels through the uprights at the end of the field? – Michael Myers Oct 18 '12 at 16:01
    
@MichaelMyers yes, I edited the question, thanks. – Dor Cohen Oct 18 '12 at 16:01
1  
I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because the author did no research and this is a very basic rule in football. – Coach-D Jan 25 at 16:24
4  
Personally, I don't think it's the worst question - I certainly don't know the answer. I understand what you're saying about a lack of research, but if we applied that an awful lot of good questions would be excluded. – TrueDub Jan 25 at 16:48
1  
I don't know the answer to this question. I've learnt something, so it's a worthwhile question. – studro Jan 27 at 10:51
up vote 11 down vote accepted

This is a common occurrence, especially in the NFL now that kickoffs have moved to the 35 yard line. But it does not result in points.

From the NFL rules (rule 3, section 10):

FIELD GOAL
A Field Goal is made by kicking the ball from the field of play through the plane of the opponents' goal by a drop kick or a placekick either:
(a) From behind the line on a play from scrimmage; or
(b) During a fair catch kick. See 11-4-3; 3-9; and 10-2-4-a.

A kickoff is neither a play from scrimmage nor a fair catch kick (a fair catch kick can occur only immediately following a kick that was fair-caught). Therefore, kicking the ball through the uprights results merely in a touchback, just like kicking the ball out of any other part of the end zone would.

share|improve this answer

protected by ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Jan 25 at 13:47

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.