Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've learned that Timed out means the batsman takes over 3 minutes to enter the field of play after a wicket falls.

  • Which batsman will be given out for this?(ie, whether the batting team had any chance to give wicket of any of its batsmen or the wicket will be given according to the batting order)

  • Will this wicket be given to the bowler?

  • Will this innings be counted +1 to the career of the batsman?

  • Is there any batsman given timed-out in international cricket history?

share|improve this question
    
+1 Nice question..can the bowling team decide in this case whether to give a batsmen/team a chance ? and what if both the batsmen are late to enter the field ? does both of them willbe given Timed-out –  NetStarter Sep 26 '13 at 7:04
1  
@NetStarter, I think both of them will be out, not sure on rules, but it was mentioned in the answer of this question. –  Sports Fan Sep 26 '13 at 7:12

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

In the MCC Laws, Law 31 states that,

(a) After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batsman, the incoming batsman must, unless Time has been called, be in position to take guard or for his partner to be ready to receive the next ball within 3 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batsman will be out, Timed out.

(b) In the event of protracted delay in which no batsman comes to the wicket, the umpires shall adopt the procedure of Law 21.3 (Umpires awarding a match). For the purposes of that Law the start of the action shall be taken as the expiry of the 3 minutes referred to above.

Which batsman will be given out for this?

The incoming batsman will be given out. In the scenario that no batsman comes out, the umpire will award the match to the bowling side.

Will this wicket be given to the bowler?

The bowler does not get credit for the dismissal

Will this innings be counted +1 to the career of the batsman?

Yes, this score will be counted to the career average and other statistics of the batsman.

Is there any batsman given timed-out in international cricket history?

As of now, there are no timed-out dismissals in internation cricket. However Wiki notes 4 timed-out dismissals in domestic cricket.

  1. Andrew Jordaan - Eastern Province v Transvaal at Port Elizabeth in 1987–88[3]
  2. Hemulal Yadav - Tripura v Orissa at Cuttack in 1997
  3. Vasbert Drakes - Border v Free State at East London in 2002
  4. AJ Harris - Nottinghamshire v Durham UCCE at Nottingham in 2003

P.S: Twenty20 cricket rules stipulates that a batsman must be on the field within 90 seconds, rather than the three minutes specified in the Laws, although the batsman is not automatically out in this instance; the bowler is allowed to bowl the ball without the batsman there in an attempt to bowl him out.

share|improve this answer
1  
after 90 seconds delay, bowler can bowl without batsman in the grease(for T20I),new one to hear –  Sports Fan Nov 1 '12 at 12:30
1  
New for me too. Found that while researching for this answer. Guess that is why the batsmen are always ready in the dug-out paddded up and ready to come. –  Orangecrush Nov 1 '12 at 14:54

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.