Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I came to know that a batsman can be stumped out off a wide ball but not off a no-ball (Is it correct?)

What are the possibilities to dismiss batsmen, off a noball, a wide ball, a freehit ball and two or three pitched(dead)ball?

share|improve this question
A Batsman can be out Stumped of a No Ball when he is using a Runner. – user1060 Jan 27 '13 at 12:05
If a runner is 'stumped', then it is treated as a run-out and not stumped. Also, the use of runners have been banned by ICC from late 2011. – Orangecrush Jan 27 '13 at 13:16
Orangecrush, The Batsman can be stumped of a No Ball if using a runner. If the runner is out of the crease then that would be Run out. ICC uses Laws of Cricket in conjunction with Playing Regulations. The Playing Regulations do not allow runners. – user1060 Jan 27 '13 at 15:50
Welcome to Sports SE! Would suggest you to go through the FAQ section before posting any further answers. Also, if you have any queries or want to point anything out related to the question/answer, please post a comment on your previous answer and do not post it as a separate answer. Thanks! – Orangecrush Jan 27 '13 at 16:59
@Orangecrush Keep in mind that users with <50 rep cannot comment. – ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Jan 27 '13 at 18:50
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Yes, you are right when you say that a batsman can be stumped off a wide but not off a no-ball.

  • No Ball dismissals - handling the ball, hitting the ball twice, obstructing the field and run out.
  • Wide dismissals - handling the ball, hit wicket, obstructing the field, run out and stumped.
  • Freehit dismissals - handling the ball, hitting the ball twice, obstructing the field and run out.

ICC states that,

Ball bouncing more than twice or rolling along the ground

The umpire shall call and signal No ball if a ball which he considers to have been delivered, without having previously touched bat or person of the striker, either

(i) bounces more than twice or

(ii) rolls along the ground

before it reaches the popping crease.

So, in such cases the delivery is considered a no-ball and the same rules of a no-ball apply.

share|improve this answer

protected by ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Mar 6 '15 at 14:39

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.