Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A receiver catches a forward pass, lands deliberately just on one foot and then throws the football forward with so-called "throwing motion".

According to the rules:

A Pass is the movement of the ball caused by the runner who throws, shoves (shovel pass), or pushes (push pass) the ball.

And then:

The Runner is the offensive player who is in possession of a live ball (3-2-1), i.e., holding the ball or carrying it in any direction.

So it is required for a receiver to place the both feet inbounds to maintain possession, and it is also required to maintain possession to perform a forward pass. But since the receiver doesn't have possession (just one foot inbounds), it is not a forward pass and rather deflection.

So would it be an illegal forward pass?

share|improve this question
2  
you realize that this must be attempted with people attempting to tackle you, right? It might be legal, but it would be a massively low percentage play and one that is rather ripe for injury (a relatively weak receive is on one leg (after coming to some kind of stop from a full sprint), trying to throw a pass with a corner (or more probably an LB) bearing down on him. Someone is going to break something. –  wax eagle Feb 19 '13 at 16:25
    
yes, it's just a theoretical question. btw i saw a play with a guy doing something similar (i mean "passing" forward) while flying even without one leg inbounds. but that was a deflection and college football, not nfl. –  fderty3 Feb 20 '13 at 9:29

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

A receiver can not be deemed to have caught the ball until they have both feet (or one knee) on the ground: "A catch is made when a player inbounds secures possession of a pass". So, by definition, the situation described in your first sentence can never occur.

What you describe is the same as a receiver batting the ball forward. The closest thing to your described situation is covered in the NFL 2012 Casebook:

A.R. 8.123 BATTING PASS

First-and-10 on A25. A1 passes forward to A2 who, at the A30, bats the ball forward to tackle A6 who was legally downfield. A6 catches the ball and runs for a touchdown.

Ruling: Touchdown Team A. Kickoff A35. Legal play

share|improve this answer
    
yes, by "catch" i meant just the grip suitable for intentional and accurate throwing forward. ok, thanks for the clarification. –  fderty3 Feb 20 '13 at 9:34

There is no way to legally throw a second forward pass, however, you can throw lateral, then throw a forward pass. Throwing a second forward pass would result penalization.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.