Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When playing doubles squash, what are the rules that vary from the singles rules?

For Example:

  • Do players in the team have to hit the ball alternately, or can either player hit the ball?

  • Does a team have to elect a server or can either player serve or does it alternate wthin the team?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

As per US Doubles Squash rules:

The two partners of a side shall serve in succession, the first retaining his serve until his side has lost a point. On the loss of a subsequent point the side shall be declared out'' and the serve revert to the opponents. On the first serve of every game, however, thein'' side shall be declared ``out'' after it has lost one point only. The order of serving within a side shall not be changed during the progress of a game. At the end of a game the side which has won the game shall have the choice of serving or receiving to commence the next game.

and

(b) At the beginning of each game each side shall designate one of its players to receive service in the right hand service court and the other to receive service in the left hand service court and throughout the course of such game the service must be received by the players so designated.

So to answer this question:

Do players in the team have to hit the ball alternately, or can either player hit the ball?

They have to hit it alternately for serving and while receiving, the person who is assigned the right hand service court should return those hits and the other person show return hits on left hand service court. This shouldn't be changed through out the game.

Does a team have to elect a server or can either player serve or does it alternate wthin the team?

It is alternate within a team.

For more details on other aspects of game, you can check the above link which I mentioned.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.