Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This is an extension of this question asked earlier.

Is there a limit that the fielders cannot cross when taking catches or saving runs for the team?

For example, if the batsman hits far enough, lets say in the third row of the seats, then is there any rule to restrict the fielder from entering the crowd, collecting the ball air-borne, and throwing it back into field (if it is feasible)?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

If a fielder is past the boundary rope it doesn't matter whether they are airborne or not, it is still a six. If the player jumps from within the field of play, catches the ball and throws it back before hitting the ground, then they will have prevented the six from scoring (and if they or a team mate can then catch the ball again before it hits the ground the batter will be out).

Once the fielder has stepped across the boundary line, if they touch the ball then it will be a six.

share|improve this answer

In Cricket, if you watch it live, there is a lot of slow motion replays from various angles that umpires use just to determine if a diving fielder touched the rope or not.

share|improve this answer
    
Welcome to Sports,Nice you invested your time in helping others but as you can see from OP's question he is asking How far can a fielder go to stop a six? and your answer is different. You can add much more information to answer OP's question.Read more at sports.stackexchange.com/helpcenter –  NetStarter Jun 6 '13 at 6:17

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.