Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This is an extension of this question asked earlier.

Is there a limit that the fielders cannot cross when taking catches or saving runs for the team?

For example, if the batsman hits far enough, lets say in the third row of the seats, then is there any rule to restrict the fielder from entering the crowd, collecting the ball air-borne, and throwing it back into field (if it is feasible)?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

If a fielder is past the boundary rope it doesn't matter whether they are airborne or not, it is still a six. If the player jumps from within the field of play, catches the ball and throws it back before hitting the ground, then they will have prevented the six from scoring (and if they or a team mate can then catch the ball again before it hits the ground the batter will be out).

Once the fielder has stepped across the boundary line, if they touch the ball then it will be a six.

share|improve this answer
Note that this answer has been very slightly superseded by the October 2013 law changes - it is only for the first contact with the ball that the fielder must have jumped from within the field of play. Second and subsequent touches can be made by fielders jumping from anywhere. For example, see Glenn Maxwell's catch in the 4th Eng vs Aus ODI, 2015. – Philip Kendall Sep 14 '15 at 10:32

In Cricket, if you watch it live, there is a lot of slow motion replays from various angles that umpires use just to determine if a diving fielder touched the rope or not.

share|improve this answer
Welcome to Sports,Nice you invested your time in helping others but as you can see from OP's question he is asking How far can a fielder go to stop a six? and your answer is different. You can add much more information to answer OP's question.Read more at – NetStarter Jun 6 '13 at 6:17

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.