Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

What will happen if the rain stops play for the whole day in big matches such as finals played for World Cup or Asia cup or currently being played Champions Trophy.

Does the match will be played again if the rain does not stop? as the match which was supposed to be played was having a big value.

Also what will be action if the match stopped for whole day after the toss was won by a team ?

What will be considerations for such rain affected matches?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

If rain fall a full day on final matches of a big tournament, then the teams will be declared joint winners. This is the rule on current ICC champions trophy.

But, in 2002 ICC Champions Trophy final between India and Srilanka, when the result was not able to find as the minmum number of overs required for DL method was not bowled, the match was rescheduled to the next day. But, the same story continues on next day, then both the teams were announced joint winners.

Source -wikipedia.

share|improve this answer
+1 ok thanks a stupid question from me what was the search term you used for this ? as i was unable to find it when i searched. – NetStarter Jun 18 '13 at 11:27
you may read the rules below points table on cricinfo – Sports Fan Jun 18 '13 at 11:29
@NetStarter - If the information is available on other sites and not in SE site then it is okay to ask it here. Because we are here to share information. :) – hims056 Jun 19 '13 at 4:08
@hims056, I agree with you, this is a good question, keep posting the things which are not discussed in sports.SE and help to grow this site – Sports Fan Jun 19 '13 at 5:30
Thanks Sports Fan and @hims056, i will try to be much more curious to ask such questions...:) – NetStarter Jun 19 '13 at 7:09

It was very messy and unbelievable that ICC Champions Trophy did not have any reserve day if any circumstance would stops the play for whole day. If we see the records there is at least one day is reserved for Final match to face any problem related to weather, Like ICC World cup. If the match would have again raining in the reserved day then trophy will be shared between both teams. If match has been played to specified overs according to D/L Rule then one of the team would be declared as wining team.

Hope this helps.

share|improve this answer
thanks for answer... – NetStarter Jun 27 '13 at 12:54

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.