Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What happens when fielder one is in contact with the ball near boundary and fielder two is in contact with fielder one who is outside of the boundary.

Will it be declared a boundary or not?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

As per Law 19 (BOUNDARIES)

Section 3 (a) (ii)

a fielder with some part of his person in contact with the ball, touches the boundary or has some part of his person grounded beyond the boundary.

And section 3 (b) *

The phrases ‘touches the boundary’ and ‘touching the boundary’ shall mean contact with either (i) the boundary edge as defined in 2 above or (ii) any person or obstacle within the field of play which has been designated a boundary by the umpires before the toss.

*read the bolded part specially

So as per section 3 (b) if a fielder with some part of his person in contact with the ball touches any person/object outside the boundary line, it will be declared a boundary.

share|improve this answer
3  
yup, it will be a boundary –  Sports Fan Jul 8 '13 at 6:39
1  
I am not sure I agree 100% with your interpretaion. Section 3b - any person or obstacle within the field of play which has been designated a boundary by the umpires before the toss BEFORE THE TOSS. Thats before the game starts. Obviously no player can be deamed a boundary before the game starts otherwise he can not take part in the game. . I agree with your answer, that he will be out, I am just not sure your interpretation of this law is correct. But I am not knowledged in cricket law enough to suggest otherwise. –  Kevin Anthony Oppegaard Rose Jul 12 '13 at 10:18

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.