Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The question is which pitcher gets the win A or B?

My baseball team played a double header (each game 7 innings) recently. Pitcher A started game 2. Because he also pitched in game one (all 7 innings), he only went 3 innings in game 2. He didn't give up a run and when he left the game his team was winning 4-0.

Pitcher B came in to pitch the 4th, 5th 6th and 7th innings and never gave up the lead. However he did give up 4 runs in four innings. The final score of the game was 11-4.

Under MLB rules, who is credited with the win? A or B? And why?

share|improve this question

According to the official MLB rules, I believe pitcher B would be credited with the win in the second game because of the fact that the starting pitcher only went 3 innings in that game.

See rule 10.17(b):

(b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed (1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or (2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorers judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.

share|improve this answer

Nothing too unique about this - Pitcher A didn't pitch 5 innings so he can't get the win.

share|improve this answer

Pitcher B gets the win. Pitcher A left the game with a 4-0 lead, Pitcher B gave up 4 runs to tie the total amount of runs produced with pitcher A was in the game. The additional 7 runs over the 4 runs were produced when pitcher B was in the game. Pitcher A would have the start but no decision.

share|improve this answer
Welcome to Sports SE! Do you have any officiating experience or can you refer to a rule that backs up your claim? – ᴍᴀsᴛᴇʀᴍɪɴᴅ_ᴇᴅ Jul 12 '13 at 20:44
This is not correct. The reason Pitcher A does not get the win is because he did not pitch enough innings. As long as the lead is not surrendered Pitcher A would get the win. – wax eagle Jul 16 '13 at 12:19
@waxeagle - was there a typo in your comment? You say Pitcher A didn't get the win because he didn't pitch enough innings but they you say he would get the win if the lead isn't surrendered. – Jer Aug 16 '13 at 15:02
@Jer yes. there is typo. Pitcher B gets the win, but not for the reason stated in this answer. – wax eagle Aug 16 '13 at 15:07

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.