Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have often heard the term "throw" used in badminton. What does it mean a player loses a point because of a "throw"?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

In this particular context, the word "Throw", could also be interpreted differently. Here it's meant to describe the mis-behaviour of players in a match (could be in other sports as well), to deliberately lose a game for their benefit.

Most recently, during the Olympics of 2012 held in London, four pairs of women's doubles badminton players, were excluded from the tournament because of "throwing" the game.


share|improve this answer
+1, Thanks for the answer and examples. – iDev Jul 19 '13 at 5:29
I think this makes more sense than the most voted answer. – iDev Jul 28 '13 at 8:21


Carry : An illegal stroke in which the shuttle is not hit, but caught and held on the racket before being released; also called a "sling" or "throw".

So if the shuttle is held on the racket before it is being released, it is called "throw".



The rules of badminton consider the following as faults:

  • ...
  • If the shuttle is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke.
  • ...

So it is considered as a fault.

Another source

share|improve this answer
Why did you alter the title of the OP? Is it a bad thing a question can have two answers? – Jacob Jan Tuinstra Jul 22 '13 at 5:35
@JacobJanTuinstra - I just improved the title. And why are you asking me that question (to have two answers)? – hims056 Jul 22 '13 at 5:37
Well, you just altered it in such a manner, that "throw" is exclusively meant for badminton. Perhaps you can change "do" in "does" as well. – Jacob Jan Tuinstra Jul 22 '13 at 5:45
@JacobJanTuinstra - Ahh. Thanks for catching that little mistake! Updated. And the question is for badminton so I did like that. If we have the same question for Cricket we could ask "What does "Throw" mean in Cricket?" – hims056 Jul 22 '13 at 5:49
Unless the question has severe grammar problems, I wouldn't alter it's meaning. – Jacob Jan Tuinstra Jul 22 '13 at 5:54

I think there's a language barrier at work here. Jacob Jan Tuinstra's answer is interesting but misleading. The context of the question is how "throwing" can lose a point. Slinging or throwing the shuttle is a fault in the BWF Laws of Badminton, 13.3.7, page 8:

It shall be a fault: if in play, the shuttle is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.