Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Tri-series is a series/tournament with three nations playing for the trophy.

  • When was the first international tri-series for cricket matches held?

  • Which nations participated in it and who was the winner?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

The first tri-series Test tournament was held in England in 1912, between England, Australia, and South Africa, and was won by England.

The first tri-series ODI tournament was held in Australia in 1979, between Australia, West Indies, and England, and was won by West Indies.

There appears to have only been one T20 tri-series (all the other tournaments in the list had more than three teams) so far, held in 2010 between Kenya, Uganda, and Scotland, and the hosts Kenya were the victors.

share|improve this answer
Its quite interesting to hear.. Why have they stopped conducting tri-series Test tournaments?? – Ganesh Babu Sep 17 '13 at 10:27

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.