Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We see matches are reduced to certain amount of overs due to bad whether conditions like rain, bad lights etc.

For example the rain affected the match between IND vs ENG in Champions Trophy final was reduced to 20 overs per side.

Why is it still considered an ODI match?

share|improve this question
1  
I feel that this question, in its initial form, is slightly unclear. Such a match is still an ODI because the ODI regulations allow the overs to be reduced. Turning it round: why should a reduced-over match not be considered an ODI? –  Spinner Oct 26 '13 at 20:52
    
because when a match is reduced the rules for power play and maximum number of overs a bowler can bowl will also be changed.But if considered your comment the Such a match is still an ODI because the ODI regulations allow the overs to be reduced.I think it is more clear to understand why the match will be called an ODI. –  NetStarter Oct 28 '13 at 7:09

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

In One Day International matches the number of overs is 50 per side. In the situation of interruption due to rain, a method named Duckworth–Lewis method is applied. So that we can get the result of the match by reducing some overs. As per DL method the minimum number of overs to be played per side is 20. So if an ODI match is reduced to 20 overs, it is still considered as an ODI match. To clarify more, this method is used even before T20 matches came in cricket. (i.e. that's why such matches are not considered as T20I matches.)

share|improve this answer
1  
I guess that they probably are also not considered T20 matches, because T20 matches have different rules than ODI matches. Also, there's a different approach towards the tie (I think there's no tie under DL, only a target). –  user1564 Oct 26 '13 at 12:07
1  
@aufkag - Did you mean result after the match is tied (i.e. super over)? Such rules depend on the tournaments. Also, the match can be tied even after the DL method is applied. :-) –  hims056 Oct 26 '13 at 19:01
1  
My understanding was that D/L provides a target only. If you reach it, you win. If you don't, you lose. But your counterexample shows that I must have been wrong. Good point. I'm more confused than ever. :) Actually, not so sure, given that the match ended in rain. Draw?? –  user1564 Oct 26 '13 at 19:05
    
Ignore that last sentence. Looking it up now. –  user1564 Oct 26 '13 at 19:15
3  
@aufkag The Wikipedia article uses the term target inconsistently. In one paragraph it's used (correctly) to refer to the score to win; in the next it's incorrectly used to refer to the score to tie. Best to refer to the official ICC D/L method document! –  Spinner Oct 26 '13 at 20:57

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.