Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Consider a typical situation when a batsman steps out of the crease against a spin bowler to play an attacking shot. However, the ball turns very sharply (due to pitching into a footmark/crack and/or exceptional skill of the bowler), and hits the short leg or silly point fielder (not his helmet), then ricochets on to the stumps. The ball hit the fielder before it crossed the batsman. In such case, would the batsman be run out?

Of course, if the fielder deliberately "snatches" the ball, it would be considered as significant movement distracting the batsman, and the umpire would call no ball. However, if it happens accidentally, this won't apply.

See below illustration.

.....+-----SSS-----+    S - stump
.....|       @     |    B - batsman
.....+-----@-------+    F - fielder
.....|   @         |    @ - ball trajectory
.....| @    B      |
....@|             |
..F..|             |
....@|             |
.....| @           |
.....|   @         |
.....|     @       |
share|improve this question
4  
AFAIK, if the ball touches the fielder before it comes to the batsman, it is called as dead ball. And batsmen may not score runs or be given out. I can't find any law for the given situation (because this is almost impossible physically). I have submitted a query to lords.org lets wait for the reply. –  hims056 Nov 30 '13 at 7:35
    
I would call it dead ball as well, under Law 23.4(b)(vi). –  Peter Eisentraut Dec 2 '13 at 17:47
    
It should cross the stumps otherwise dead ball –  the1pawan Dec 5 '13 at 9:54

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

The answer is Not out.

The Umpire at the bowler's end should call No Ball and immediately call Dead Ball under Law 24.7. The ball is not to be counted in the over and should be bowled again. Any further action beyond the call of Dead Ball is to be ignored.

For more clarity check out: law-24-in-action

share|improve this answer
    
Excellent answer, and a good find. Thanks. –  Happy Jan 8 at 7:42

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.