Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Some shots in one-day or Twenty 20 cricket involve the batsman changing stance to play a shot (e.g. reverse sweep), but are there any provisions in cricket laws that allow the umpire to decide when this can take place because then the wide and lbw decisions also need to be adjusted.

share|improve this question

Batsmen can go for reverse sweep or switch hit any time during the match. Umpires have nothing to decide with it.

ICC had already made this shot legal and the changes were done with the rules of LBW and wide for these shots.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.