Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Is it legal to still hit the racquetball after it hits the front wall as long as it has only bounced on the floor once?

share|improve this question
Serve hits the front wall and hits the back wall and floor at the same time- back wall crotch serve, is this a good serve? – user7669 Dec 7 '14 at 3:53

Yes, until the ball bounces twice on the floor, it is still in play - with the obvious exceptions like when the ball hits a player or goes out of the court.

I believe the scenario you're specifically referring to is when your opponent hits a hard, high shot off the front wall that then hits the back wall, bounces once on the ground and makes it all the way back to the front wall again before the second bounce. In this case, yes, you can still hit the ball as it rebounds off the front wall but before it hits the ground.

According to the 2013 USAR rulebook Rule 3.13 paragraph (e):

(e) Return Attempts. The ball remains in play until it touches the floor a second time; regardless of how many walls it makes contact with – including the front wall.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.