Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I want to know about a cricket match result.

Last ball was no ball so next ball will be a free hit.

For no ball SCORE is LEVEL. Now the batting side need 1 run from 1 ball. Bowler finishes his ball by hitting the leg stumps and both batsman on the crease go for a run and complete 1 run without getting out.

In this case the Batsman will be not out because it was a free hit.

But the ball hit the leg stump and then batsman completed 1 run.

It's a legal ball but also a free hit.

I think this match result will be tie because last ball hit the leg stump so no chance to run.

Is it? Am I right?

Who will win? Bowling side? Batting side? Or match tie?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

Yeah surely the batting side will win. Its because as the last ball is no ball and there is requirement of one run to will from one ball.As the rule of the cricket while in no ball a batsman cant be out even he is bowled out and only way to make batsman out is by run out or stumping during no ball.So even after hitting the leg stump, the batman ran for required one run while makes them victorious.

share|improve this answer

On a free hit, the batsman is not out even if the ball hits the stumps. Therefore, the ball is not dead, and the batsmen can run although the striker has been bowled. The batting side would then win, since they have completed the one run they need to overhaul the fielding side's target.

share|improve this answer
1  
Yes, unless a fielder manages to pick up the ball and remove a bail (or stump if both bails are already removed) before they complete the run, then it is a tie –  user1672694 Jan 3 at 6:40
    
@user1672694 it is unnecessary to state the situation of a run out. There can be other situations as well like obstructing the field. –  hims056 Jan 3 at 9:06
1  
@hims056 if stating a run out is unnecessary then so is stating obstructing the field –  user1672694 Jan 4 at 3:19
    
@user: I am not stating the law of obstructing the field. I am just giving an example same as run out. No offence. :) –  hims056 Jan 4 at 3:37

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.