Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Team A has set a target of 120 in 20 overs.
Team B hits a 4 at 119, to take the score to 123 in 17 overs.

For NRR calculation will the actual score be counted (123) or the target score (120)?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Net run rate is counted by total runs scored by the team. This also includes additional runs (123-120 = 3) as well.

Have a look at the point table of Asia Cup 2012. Here it shows total runs scored by Bangladesh is 746 in 136.3 overs. Note if point table includes only groups matches. Bangladesh's final score of all three group matches is 241 + 293 + 212 = 746 runs. Which includes 3 additional runs (293-290) scored against India when the target was 290.

share|improve this answer
The irony of the series was the rule for qualifying in the final. India had much better run rate than Bangladesh but still India could not qualify as they lost against Bangladesh. (Team vs team win had higher priority than net run rate which was actually nonsense when each team had to play only one match against each other.) – hims056 Jan 6 '14 at 4:13

Yes. hims056 is correct that Net run rate is counted by total scored runs by team. But the final team score if the batsmen hits a boundary or Six when the scores are level will be taken as 121 if the batsmen were crossed before the ball reaches the boundary.if the batsmen have not crossed each other then it will be taken as 123.

Actually There were two incidents happened like this.

1.India Vs Pakistan 21 march 2014(Check Here) (See Scorecard)

2.India Vs West Indies 23 march 2014 (Check Here) (See Scorecard)

But As far as net run rate calculation is concerned he (hims056) is correct

share|improve this answer
This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post. – Sports Fan Mar 24 '14 at 10:45
This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post - you can always comment on your own posts, and once you have sufficient reputation you will be able to comment on any post. – hims056 Mar 24 '14 at 10:50
@SportsFan,@hims056 sorry i didnot have enough reputation to comment. – Prakash Mar 24 '14 at 10:53
@Prakash, as it is already mentioned, the issue is not with the calculation of the net run rate(this post is just discussing about that), your issue is about calculation of score in the last ball. Your edited answer too is wrong. – Sports Fan Mar 24 '14 at 11:12
@Prakash, ok cool, the OP clearly mentions that the chasing team had took the score to 123(ie, the ball went for 4). So, running between the wickets at that time is a different scenario that we're having a separate discussion. – Sports Fan Mar 24 '14 at 11:58

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.