Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does the bowler get to bowl an extra ball in the over if he gets a hat trick? If I remember right, this used to be the practice/rule earlier, but probably not so now. Thanks in advance.

share|improve this question

From Law 22:

1. Number of balls

The ball shall be bowled from each end alternately in overs of 6 balls.

So only six legal balls are allowed to bowl in an over and no exception is given there. And why should he given extra ball to bowl? I can't see any logic here.

Note: There is no any law for Hat-trick in Cricket laws.

share|improve this answer
Absolutely. Also, giving the bowler an extra ball could actually be a bonus to the batsman - it's an extra ball to score off. That wouldn't make sense - why penalise the bowler? – Spinner Jan 31 '14 at 11:10

Not at all !

A hattrick is just a fancy informal term to describe 3 wickets taken in 3 consecutive deliveries by a bowler.

And the bowler doesn't get any extra ball for a hattrick !

share|improve this answer

The bowler may be presented with the ball at the end of the innings, as a trophy for his achievement.

So yes, he would recieve an extra ball - in another sense.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.