Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is it possible for a match to get tie even after applying D/L method?

If yes,

Is there any match tied after applying this tie breaker?

share|improve this question
    
Yes this rule are made for targeted to second bat –  user3306 Feb 15 at 8:07

3 Answers 3

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes, it's possible for a match to get tie after applying the D/L method.

There are some matches got tied on this scenario, the most recent example is the South Africa vs West Indies match in Champions trophy 2013.

Scorecard of that match.

share|improve this answer

Is it possible for a match to get tie even after applying D/L method?

Why not? Suppose a team scored 280 runs in 50 overs. Team batting second gets target of 271 in 45 overs. If they score 270 after 45 overs, the match will be tied. Another simple example: A match is affected by rain before the match is started. So when the match is started it is reduced to 40 overs per side. If both teams score same runs the match will be tied as per D/L method.

Is there any match tied after applying this tie breaker?

Firstly, D/L method is not a tie breaker. It is a method to calculate the target for the team batting second in the rain/weather affected matches.

There are some ODI matches which were tied after the D/L method was applied. The match between Ireland v Pakistan is another example of a tied match using D/L method. Here is the list of tied ODI matches. You can search other matches yourself where D/L method was applied.

Regarding T20I matches there is no match which was tied after D/L method was applied*. You can see the list of tied T20I matches here.

* As on 2014-02-10

share|improve this answer

Of course, yes.

The best example for your question is match between South Africa VS Sri Lanka in 2003 world cup which was actually tied game under D/L method which eventually made South Africa to get eliminated from the tournament in group stages.

share|improve this answer
    
Most pivotal instance ! Good answer. –  Yaitzme Feb 25 at 18:15

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.