Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This can be easily done in slow/medium pace deliveries. Consider a batsman getting bowled in a no-ball or a free-hit ball and the ball remains near the batsman.

Is it allowed to hit the ball with the bat/leg by the batsman to get runs?

share|improve this question
    
No it is not allowed as per the rules –  user3391 Mar 3 at 8:58
    
@ling, welcome to Sports SE. Which rule/law/playing condition are you thinking of? –  Spinner Mar 3 at 16:21
1  
Initially I missed the "s" in "batsman" and got confused :-/ –  Jan Dvorak May 29 at 5:40
    
@JanDvorak - Don't ignore the giant S. :-) –  hims056 May 29 at 5:46

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

This situation comes under the law 37 (Obstructing the field). (emphasis mine)

Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if he wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. In particular, but not solely, it shall be regarded as obstruction and either batsman will be out Obstructing the field if while the ball is in play and after the striker has completed the act of playing the ball, as defined in Law 33.1, he wilfully strikes the ball with

(i) a hand not holding the bat, unless this is in order to avoid injury. See also Law 33.2 (Not out Handled the ball).

(ii) any other part of his person or with his bat. See also Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).

So in the given situation once the ball is bowled (here either no ball or free hit), it is in play irrespective of the ball touches the bat until the umpire declares it a dead 1. So if the batsman hit the ball after he gets bowled, he is actually obstructing the field because fielders (mostly the bowler himself in such situations) rush to the ball to take it to prevent batsmen taking runs. So the batsman who is hitting the ball is out Obstructing the field.


1. Normally the ball becomes dead after it is thrown to the keeper and batsmen are into the crease or a batsman is out

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.