Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Is a spinner allowed to bowl a bouncer above the shoulder of the batsman?

share|improve this question

Yes Spinners can bowl bouncers and it has happened many times in the history of cricket.

Few are here:

Afridi Bouncer to Lara

Shane Warne Bouncer to KP

share|improve this answer

Bowling rules do not change by bowling type. So a bowler is allowed to bowl two bouncers in an over(in Test and ODI) and one in T20I in an over irrespective of bowling type. That means if a bowler bowls more than allowed bouncers in an over, it will be called a no ball.

share|improve this answer

Spinner can also bowl any type of bowls which other bowlers bowls. There is no restriction. Spinners sometime bowl yorker or bouncer depending on the situation of the match. I remember many spinners using at least yorkers in matches.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.