Sign up ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So, I would assume the answer to this question is "No", but I can't actually verify it anywhere. The criteria for getting your name on the cup is to play at least 41 regular season games for the cup winning team. But if a player is traded after that 41 games, is his name still engraved on the Cup even though he played out the season with another team?

share|improve this question
Okay, I think I've answered my own question. No, because Cam Barker played 51 games for Chicago in the 2009-2010 season before being traded to Minnesota. His name does not appear on the cup.… – Matt Feb 29 '12 at 22:23
Answering your own question is perfectly legitimate; feel free to move that comment into an answer. – Michael Myers Feb 29 '12 at 23:09
Not only legitimate, it's even encouraged! Although I'm going to add the NHL tag as this is not necessarily the case in all Ice Hockey. – corsiKa Feb 29 '12 at 23:32

1 Answer 1

According to this article:

Prior to 1977 only players who had completed the Stanley Cup playoffs were eligible. Today, players appearing in 41 regular-season games or one Stanley Cup Final game for the championship team have their names engraved on the Cup. The NHL makes exceptions for players who do not meet the standard because of injury or other extenuating circumstances.

And according to the NHL:

To have one's name engraved on the Stanley Cup certain requirements must be met. A player must have at least 41 games played with the club or one game played in the Stanley Cup Finals. However, in 1994 a stipulation was added to allow a team to petition the Commissioner for permission to have players' names put on the Cup if extenuating circumstances prevented them from being available to play.

However, according to Wikipedia:

The Detroit Red Wings received special permission from the NHL to inscribe the name of Vladimir Konstantinov, whose career ended after a car accident on June 13, 1997, on the Stanley Cup after Detroit defended their title in 1998.

So it appears that player traded away could be added in theory, but probably not in practice.

share|improve this answer
Today, players appearing in 41 regular-season games or one Stanley Cup Final game for the championship team have their names engraved on the Cup seems to indicate the player traded away after 41 games would be added. Your conclusion doesn't seem to be supported? – Matthew Read Mar 3 '12 at 18:41
@matthew, from the context, the 41 games rule was in effect if the player was still with the organization when the Stanley Cup was won. – JW8 Mar 4 '12 at 4:07
This does raise the question: if a player was so instrumental to the team that you would add them to the cup, why would you trade him? – corsiKa Jul 13 at 21:16
@corsiKa, some possible reasons might include acquiring another key player at a position of need or building depth for the playoff run. – JW8 Jul 15 at 6:48

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.