Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I found some information on rules, but I never found a clear answer to what should be done when service ball touches net. Is it point for opponent, or should the service be redone? If redone - will it be redone regardless of how many times I hit the net?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

If the serve touches the net, it is a let, and you must serve again. If it touches the net and lands on the floor, you lose a point. If the serve goes into the net, you lose the point.

share|improve this answer
It is redone regardless of how many times you hit the net as long as it lands in play. – Greg Mar 1 '12 at 15:33

According to the USATT Rules

2.9 A Let

2.9.1 The rally shall be a let if in service the ball, in passing over or around the net assembly, touches it, provided the service is otherwise good or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his/her partner;

Which means you must serve again if other than touching the net the service would be good. other wise rule would apply:

2.10 A Point

2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point if the opponent fails to make a correct service

share|improve this answer
Not to cut down Greg's answer, which appears to be factually correct, you can't do better than citing the official rules. – corsiKa Mar 1 '12 at 18:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.