Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can the batsman hit the ball after the ball crossed the stumps?

share|improve this question Like this? – Shaunak D Jun 5 '14 at 11:34
up vote 2 down vote accepted

It is allowed. There is no rule for this.

Brad Haddin once(two times same match) did this on a free hit. Just because you can't get bowled on a free hit and you get more time when you play after the ball passes the stumps.- Video Link.

This has hardly happened in International cricket.

Sometimes Upper cuts, unintentionally are hit after the ball crosses the stumps.

share|improve this answer
Good answer, nice to watch a shot like that. – Sports Fan Jun 5 '14 at 13:02
This does seem unfair on the bowler though. Right? – Shaunak D Jun 5 '14 at 13:04
Great question. Greater answer! – Yaitzme Apr 8 '15 at 22:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.