Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

My bookmaker has prices for the golden boot winner and the top tournament goal scorer in the World Cup. What is the difference between the two awards?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

There could be multiple top goal scorers, but there can only be one Golden Boot winner. Multiple players could score the most amount of goals, but only one will be awarded the Golden Boot. If there is a tie, the player who has the most number of assists will be awarded the Golden Boot. If there is still a tie, then the player who has played the least amount of time will be awarded the trophy.

Source: Wikipedia - World Cup Golden Boot

share|improve this answer
    
but 1994 there was 2 golden boot winners –  Dirty-flow Jul 7 at 15:14
    
Seems like FIFA didn't have tie breaker rule before then, and awarded the trophy to multiple players. 1994 was the first multiple players score the most goals. In 2010 4 players tied for the most goals (each scoring 5 each), the trophy went to Thomas Muller of Germany since he has 3 assists, while the remaining three has one assist each. –  alamoot Jul 7 at 15:48
    
As far as I know, the tie breaker rule was introduced for the 2010 World Cup. –  Roberto Bonvallet Jul 15 at 19:25
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.