Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When umpire change the cricket ball, was the old ball thrown as waste or keep for reuse?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

It depends - there's a number of possibilities:

  • Someone keeps it as a souvenir (10/5-wicket haul)
  • It's re-used as a replacement ball in another match
  • It's passed on to the nets for use there
  • It's discarded

It all depends on the match, the events during it and the state of the ball itself.

share|improve this answer

It completely depends :

  1. If any bowler takes 10/5-wicket haul thn they keep that bowl with them as memory.

  2. Other reason is completely depends on ball condition.

    I. Ball is stored by ICC rules to replace it for some overs in other international event.

    II. If ball condition is not good enough to play thn ball is discarded.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.