Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can a batsman be run out after an umpire signals over? My friend was batting outside the crease, and the ball went to a fielder. He was not taking a run. The umpire called Over and my friend went to talk to the non-striker at his end. The the bails came off. Is this Out, or Dead Ball or what?

share|improve this question

The meaning of the dead ball is no further actions can be performed after the ball is declared as dead. That means neither batsmen can run nor fielders can run-out them.

See Dead ball - Wikipedia

In cricket, a dead ball is a particular state of play in which the players may not perform any of the active aspects of the game.[2] In other words, batsmen may not score runs and fielders may not attempt to get batsmen out.

share|improve this answer

I don't think you can get run out after the umpire signals over. When the umpire signals over, the six deliveries are all finished, and there is no further play.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.