Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose a bowler bowls a shoulder height ball at the batsman and the batsman hits a four or gets out. Can the ball be called as a bouncer?

share|improve this question
    
Your question is unclear. Are you asking: Is it considered a bouncer if a bowler bowls a shoulder height ball? or a batsman hits a bouncer ball anything else? –  hims056 Jul 29 at 10:03
    
Do you mean will it be declared a no ball? –  vasanth Sep 1 at 11:30

2 Answers 2

The law/meaning of the bouncer is the ball bounces above shoulder height irrespective of a batsman hits it or not. So it is considered a bouncer even if a batsman hits it and gets runs or out.

share|improve this answer

As per ICC rules, Bouncer is declared when bowler bowls above batman's shoulder height.Because its pretty obvious that if ball is above shoulder height, Batman might be not able to play it.

So Everytime when bowler bowls above shoulder height, Leg umpier straight away declare it as NO BALL wheather batman hits it or not.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.