Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Suppose a player needs a triple to complete the cycle. In the ninth innings, the player hits a solo home run. Suppose that the game is a blowout, has no postseason implications, and so on such that the extra run is irrelevant. The player would rather achieve the statistical accolade of hitting for the cycle than another home run.

Can the player just stop running the bases at third and take a triple? If a player didn't run all the way home after a home run, what happens? Is he out? Would he statistically be credited with a triple or a home run?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

At the very least there is this comment on rule 3.01(e) of the official MLB rules that seems to indicate that the runner must cross home plate after hitting a home run, before play can resume.

Rule 3.01(e) Comment: The umpire shall not give an alternate ball to the pitcher until play has ended and the previously used ball is dead. After a thrown or batted ball goes out of the playing field, play shall not be resumed with an alternate ball until the runners have reached the bases to which they are entitled. After a home run is hit out of the playing grounds, the umpire shall not deliver a new ball to the pitcher or the catcher until the batter hitting the home run has crossed the plate.

(emphasis mine)

share|improve this answer
I looked through the whole rule book and only found this too. I was going to post it as an answer but couldn't find a rule to figure out what would happen if the batter just stopped at 3rd. – ACD Aug 13 '14 at 21:12
@ACD I could see it falling under the spirit of some other rules, like 7.08(a)(2) which uses language like "abandoning his effort to touch the next base". Although that specifically mentions leaving the base path. 7.08(i) also mentions that a player can be called out for running the bases in reverse order "for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game." But yes, nothing specifically about not completing a home run. – fromcanada Aug 13 '14 at 23:30
My thoughts exactly. This question is really bothering me and I don't know where I could get a legitimate answer from! – ACD Aug 14 '14 at 12:41

If there was a runner on, he could pass him and be declared out at the next base, only if the other team appealed it.

I don't know if there is any rule of baseball to cover the situation of a player refusing to run out a home run.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.