Take the 2-minute tour ×
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have started playing volleyball recently. I dont know much rules of this game. Recently while playing one of us lofted the ball by leg and another player parred the ball.
Isn't it foul? How can we use leg for Volleyball?
Please provide proper information? thanks in advance.

share|improve this question
Any ole' limb'll do. :) . –  PorkChopPenfold Jun 13 '13 at 3:48

2 Answers 2

up vote 11 down vote accepted

According to one LiveStrong.com page discussing legal and illegal volleyball hits:

Recently Updated Rules

Contacting the ball with any part of the body below the waist used to be illegal. When the ball hits any part of your body, including the leg or the foot, it constitutes a legal hit. Another USA Volleyball rule update for the 2010 season slightly changed the rule regarding physical support for a teammate. Previously you couldn't get a teammate's help to reach a ball. Now you can't get a teammate's help to hit the ball, although it is still legal for a teammate to stop you or hold you back from touching the net or crossing the center line.

According to another site, volleyball rules state:

The volleyball may touch any part of the body.

Finally, from the official USA Volleyball site, the 2009-11 US domestic indoor rules state:


9.2.1 The ball may touch any part of the body.

Similarly, the 2011-12 FIVB international rules state:

9.2.1 The ball may touch any part of the body

So for all major indoor court competitions, rule 9.2.1 permits hits by any part of the body.

For beach volleyball, FIVB has a similar rule in the 2009-12 rules:

13.4.1 The ball may touch any part of the body.

So by the currently available rules, players can legally hit the ball with any part of the body.

share|improve this answer
You mention indoor. Is this to imply that it would be different for outdoor volleyball? –  corsiKa Apr 25 '12 at 19:45
@corsiKa, good point. Looked up the FIVB beach volleyball rules - similar rule is in place. –  JW8 Apr 25 '12 at 21:05
Is this valid for pass only? Can I make a hit with leg? –  Tomas Feb 25 '13 at 8:08

Yes It is allowed. But of course not always allowed.

You can kick the ball to stop the ball from hitting your side.

share|improve this answer
How is your answer different to the one already given? –  Jacob Jan Tuinstra Dec 14 '13 at 18:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.