Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In baseball, a player can replaced by any other player who hasn't yet appeared in the game. Can this replacement be made after a player has started batting and is still at the plate?

share|improve this question
Would the same rule apply if the batter was ejected by the umpire during the AB? – user6392 Sep 29 '14 at 23:20
Yes, that would be treated the same as any other replacement. – Joe Sep 30 '14 at 16:16
up vote 21 down vote accepted

Absolutely. From the official rules:

A player, or players, may be substituted during a game at any time the ball is dead.


When a batter leaves the game with two strikes against him, and the substitute batter completes a strikeout, the official scorer shall charge the strikeout and the time at bat to the first batter. If the substitute batter completes the turn at bat in any other manner, including a base on balls, the official scorer shall score the action as having been that of the substitute batter.

share|improve this answer
Thanks for adding the ruling on who is charged with the strikeout. – SigueSigueBen Jun 4 '12 at 18:05

Basically, any player, offense or defense, can be substituted for another, when the ball is not "in play."

The basic reason is injury. Suppose (and this would be a freak accident), a batter was hurt while hitting a foul ball. The manager might want to use a pinch hitter, rather than having the hurt batter continue to bat and run.

The new batter would inherit the ball-strike count of the old batter. As mentioned in another post, the new batter would be credited with the ultimate result EXCEPT when the original batter had accrued two of the three strikes in what ultimately becomes a strikeout.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.