Questions about the sport of baseball. The [mlb] tag should also be used if the question concerns Major League Baseball directly.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a run score if the batter is tagged for the 3rd out before he reaches first?

There is a runner on third with two out. Batter hits a slow roller to first base. First baseman charges and picks up the ball. Runner from third crosses home. First baseman tags the runner running ...
3
votes
1answer
724 views

Does a run count if it's made after an unforced out? [duplicate]

scenerio: runners on second and third, two outs. Ball hit to shortstop who immediately tags out the runner going from second to third. This happens before runner gets to first and before runner from ...
12
votes
4answers
19k views

Does a run count if it's made on the same play as the 3rd out?

Under what conditions can a run be scored on a play that results in a 3rd out for the team? I was under the impression that if a 3rd out happens, all runs that might have scored before time during ...
9
votes
1answer
184 views

Switch-Pitcher versus Switch-Batter

A Switch-Pitcher is pitching (Can pitch with the left or right arm). A Switch-Batter is at the plate (Can bat from the left or right side). In the MLB, who is forced to choose what side they are ...
9
votes
1answer
392 views

Are there any rules in baseball which prohibit teams from “borrowing” players via trade?

Every season near the trade deadline, we see teams that are out of it trading expensive players and/or free agents-to-be, typically for younger players or prospects. For example, Matt Garza, set to ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Is a base runner automatically out if they stop advancing when forced to their next base?

Here's a situation that came up during a back lot league softball game a few weeks ago. (Note: While our league has some of its own rules we try to defer to MLB rules in all causes that aren't ...
17
votes
6answers
46k views

What gives a left-handed pitcher an advantage over a left-handed batter?

In baseball, a pitcher is often assumed to have an advantage over a batter based on his handedness (i.e. left-handed vs right-handed). I think it is that right-handed pitchers have an advantage of ...
21
votes
4answers
12k views

Why does a foul ball not count as a third strike?

From the Wikipedia entry for foul ball A strike is issued for the batter if he had fewer than two strikes ... A strike is, however, recorded for the pitcher for every foul ball the batter hits,...
16
votes
2answers
18k views

If a play ends with two runners at the same base who is safe?

In baseball if a play ends and two base runners are at the same base who is safe and who is out? Does the situation change if one of the runners can be forced?
10
votes
4answers
12k views

What happens to the runner if he misses a base after hitting a homerun?

Scenario: No one on base. 2 outs. Batter hits a homerun. However, while rounding the bases, completely misses stepping on second base. Now, I understand that being a home run, it's a dead ball, and ...
8
votes
3answers
5k views

What is BABIP in Baseball, and what does it tell us?

How does one get a high/low BABIP? Is this statistic for hitters and/or pitchers? What does a high/low BABIP mean? Definition: BABIP = (Hits - Homeruns) / (At Bats - Strikeouts - Homeruns + ...
7
votes
1answer
4k views

Batting average greater than on-base percentage

While watching a New York Mets game early this season, before one plate appearance the broadcast graphics displayed that catcher John Buck had a batting average (AVG) of .400 and an on-base percentage ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a run scored on a tag out on a forced runner?

The situation: Runners at third and first, ball is hit to the second basemen, 2nd basemen goes to tag the runner out. Runner stops, runner on third scores and then 2nd basement tags the runner, does ...
3
votes
1answer
366 views

How could pitchers once pitch both games of a doubleheader?

It was once not unheard for pitchers to pitch both games of a doubleheader, even to throw back-to-back complete games: The most distinguished doubleheader pitching achievement was that of “Big ...
3
votes
0answers
43 views

Is a base runner out if he back pedals to first base to avoid a tag in a double play situation? [duplicate]

There came a situation in one game where there was a runner occupying first base (R1) and third base (R3), with one out. The batter then hits a ground ball to the left of the second baseman. He fields ...
2
votes
3answers
118 views

If the pitcher throws to 1st base to try to get the base runner out, is the runner on 2nd allowed to run to 3rd?

There are runners on 2nd and 1st base, and they're both leading off. The pitcher throws to 1st to try to get him out - is the runner on 2nd base allowed to run to 3rd?
2
votes
1answer
97 views

Jackie Robinson's Caught Stealing Totals

I'm doing some analysis on Jackie Robinson's career. I'm using both Retrosheet and Lahman's database in order get his performance per game and overall stats respectively. The thing is that I see ...
1
vote
1answer
151 views

Ball goes through the strike zone, but the catcher doesn't catch the ball?

I'm still learning the basics of baseball, so please excuse my ignorance. If a ball is pitched through the strike zone, but the catcher doesn't catch the ball, does this count as a ball or strike?