Cricket is a bat-and-ball game played between two teams of 11 players on a field, at the centre of which is a rectangular 22-yard long pitch.

One team bats, trying to score as many runs as possible while the other team bowls and fields, trying to dismiss the batsmen and thus limit the runs scored by the batting team. A run is normally scored by the striking batsman hitting the ball with his bat, running to the opposite end of the pitch and touching the crease there without being dismissed. Runs are also awarded for striking the ball outside the field of play.

The teams switch between batting and fielding at the end of an innings. In a Test match, each team has two innings, but in a One-Day International or Twenty20 International match each team has only one innings.

The team that wins is the team with most runs after all innings have been completed.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the international governing body of cricket . But it is the MCC which revised the Laws of Cricket in 1788 and continues to reissue them (from time to time), and remains the copyright holder.

Suggested Reads :

history | show excerpt | excerpt history