Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

16

This is one of the reason why what we commonly think of as 'rules' of a sport are usually actually called 'laws'. See the Laws of Cricket They are called Laws because you cannot possibly define to the very last possible detail every single possibility that might happen - such as the example here. In cricket the laws are applied by the Umpires and their ...


9

If a batsman carries the stumps deliberately, he is actually obstructing the field. Law 37 (Obstructing the field): 1. Out Obstructing the field Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if he wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. In particular, but not solely, it shall be regarded as obstruction and ...


9

I think it will be useful If the bails have already been removed, a fielder can remove a remaining stump by pulling it out or hit out the stump(ensure that the stump is fully out of ground) from the ground with the ball in their hands. A fielder can also "remake" the stumps and remove a stump/bail to effect a runout. from the link here and here


8

Is it possible to dismiss both the batsmen in ground(ie,by a catch and a run out)? No. It is not possible to dismiss both batsmen on the same delivery. Only one batsman can be legally dismissed. In the event of both being dismissed on the same delivery, the batsman dismissed first goes back to the pavilion while the other continues with his/her innings. ...


7

B is out. The batsmen haven't crossed each other and B is closer to the end where the fielder puts the wicket down. From the wikipedia Page The batsman can be judged run out when he is closest to the end where the wicket has been put down by the opposition and no other batsman is available inside the crease of the same end. Another Reference.Check ...


6

No, the batsman cannot be run out in both these scenarios. For a batsman to be dismissed by run out, his wicket needs to be put down. What this means is defined by Law 28 of the Laws of cricket. The wicket is put down if the person holding the ball hit the stumps with his hand or arm, and provided that the ball is held in the hand or hands so ...


6

Yes, the batsmen is out. Refer first to Law 35 (Hit Wicket) 1. Out Hit wicket (a) The striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered his delivery stride and while the ball is in play, his wicket is put down either by the striker’s bat or by his person as described in Law 28.1(a)(ii) and (iii) (Wicket put down). We need to check Law 28 to ...


6

There should not be a change of strike if the batsman is bowled. The umpire made the correct decision by letting the new batsman face the next ball. This is covered by Law 18, which states that the rule of batsmen crossing only applies if the dismissal is Caught, Obstructing the field or Run out. 11. Batsman returning to original end (a) When a ...


5

As I said in my previous answer, Zings, the new high-tech LED stumps, are very costly. The entire set-up during a match costs US$ 40,000. That's why Bronte EcKermann, the inventor of Zings doesn't allow players to uproot them after winning the match. He also denied to take them even after winning the final. But as an exception he said that he will allow MS ...


5

Good question. A similar query applies to LBW. Does the off and leg sides get switched in regards to applying the different rules on LBW for the different sides? It takes some digging through different parts of the Laws of Cricket to get a answer. The only thing I can find the defines the moment in time that the off and leg sides get defined is in Law 36 ...


5

Wikipedia defines hat-trick as, A hat-trick occurs in cricket when a bowler dismisses three batsmen with consecutive deliveries. The deliveries may be interrupted by an over bowled by another bowler from the other end of the pitch or the other team's innings, but must be three consecutive deliveries by the individual bowler. Only wickets attributed to ...


5

It is not mandatory to keep the ball within the wicket keeper's hand to stump the batsman. He can put the wicket down with ball in his hand or thrown on to the stumps. It will be given stumped out even if the keeper throws the ball to the stumps keeping that there is no subsequent contact between the ball and any other member of the fielding side Source ...


5

No, because the ball becomes dead when a (that is, the first) dismissal occurs. If it is not intentional, then it is not out. (Note the term "willful" in Law 34.) Touching the back of the bat is by itself not a reason for a dismissal. But the back does count as part of the bat for purposes of caught etc.


5

As per the ICC playing conditions of Umpire reviewing system, still the bowling team will win the match. If following a review request, an original decision of 'Out' is changed to 'Not Out', then the ball is still deemed to have become dead when the original decision was made (as per Law 23.1(a)(iii)). The only benefit that the batting team can ...


4

1) Definitely not - in addition you cannot run out both batsmen - once one is run out, or a batsman is out by any means, the ball is dead and no further wickets can take place on that ball (neither can runs be scored). 2) No. If the batsman is deemed to have intentionally hit the ball twice, AND the opposing team appeals AND he is given out AND the ...


4

Law 32 of the Laws of cricket here fair catch (d) a fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman.


4

In the history of cricket there are only two times a batsman was out by this term retired-out. Both of them are Srilankan cricket players and both the instances were held in a same match. Generally, retired-outs are happened only in warm-up matches where the result is not as much important. So this dismissal term was not included in the standard dismissal ...


4

Law 38 (Run out), section 3: The batsman out [...] is the one whose ground is at the end where the wicket is put down. Law 29 (Batsman out of his ground), section 2(c): If there is no batsman in either ground, then each ground belongs to whichever batsman is nearer to it, or, if the batsmen are level, to whichever batsman was nearer to it ...


4

As per Appendix A (considering the above image) the size chart is as below: Senior Junior -------------------------------------- a 3.49 cm a 3.18 cm b 5.40 cm b 4.60 cm c 2.06 cm c 1.91 cm -------------------------------------- Overall 10.95 cm Overall 9.68 cm ...


3

Yes this is the dismissal by hit wicket: From Wikipedia In the first innings of the 3rd Test in the 1921 Ashes series, at Headingley, Andy Ducat, playing in his only Test for England, fended at a fast ball bowled by Australia's Ted McDonald. Ducat's bat broke, and a splinter flew back and dislodged a bail, the ball being caught behind by a slip fielder. ...


3

Retired not out If a batsman retires during his innings because of injury, illness or any other unavoidable reasons, and doesn't resume his innings, he is considered as retired not out. He can resume his innings after the wicket is fallen or other batsmen is retired. Retired not out is considered as not out. Retired out If a batsman retires during his ...


3

From Wikipedia A hat-trick occurs in cricket when a bowler dismisses three batsmen with consecutive deliveries. The deliveries may be interrupted by an over bowled by another bowler from the other end of the pitch or the other team's innings, but must be three consecutive deliveries by the individual bowler. Only wickets attributed to the bowler ...


3

The rule for all indoor stadiums having roofs are that if the roof is closed and the ball hits the roof, then it is considered a dead ball. Hussey hits the roof with a monstrous shot.


3

It is not a question of which batsman has covered the greater proportion of the pitch, but rather it is a question of whose is the ground where the wicket is put down. Law 38.3 Which batsman is out The batsman out [...] is the one whose ground is at the end where the wicket is put down. Law 29.2 Which is a batsman’s ground [...] (c) ...


3

No if the bails are already off the stumps then the fielder can pull the stump out from the ground and batsmen will be given out as a run out. Adding to the answer by Ashutosh Mishra Bangladesh Wicket Keeper Mushfiqur Rahim had used this technique in the match against England in World Cup 2011 to Out England Matt Prior.(though it was Stump Out) You can ...


2

As per Wikipedia's definition of Hat-Trick a bowler taking a wicket off each of three consecutive deliveries that he bowls in a single match (whether in the same over or split up in two consecutive overs, or two overs in two different spells, or even spread across two innings of a test match or first-class cricket game). So from the definition we can ...


2

Some possibilities are there: If you are looking at not losing a match and making every batsmen out in unique ways without any extras, it is not possible: If the batting team requires more than 1 run: First three batsmen out, as you described, without facing a ball. The next batsman is Stumped out in wide ball so the wicket is fallen and still ...


2

According to Law 16.2, 16.3: The bowler’s end umpire shall call Time when the ball is dead on the cessation of play before any interval or interruption and at the conclusion of the match. After the call of Time, the bails shall be removed from both wickets. So, this is the official way to show that the match has been paused or finished.


2

It's very simple. Just keep in mind that the new batsman will take the place of the dismissed batsman. If they have changed the strike, the new batsman will be on the strike in the next over, if they haven't, the new batsman will be on the non strike.


2

When the LED stumps were first used in the Big Bash League, its Senior Manager had this to say: "These light up stumps are all about enhancing the spectator experience during BBL matches and ensuring that the BBL remains highly entertaining for the fans," BBL Senior Manager Anthony Everard said in a statement. "The stumps do not have any ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible