We are a Minor's Division team (9 & 10 year olds).

I wanted to rotate between my two pitchers by inning. I pitched my first kid for an inning, switched kids and pitched the second one for an inning. On the third inning I tried to have my first kid pitch again, but the other team manager said that was against the rules.

The rule states (regulation VI, part B): A pitcher once removed from the mound cannot return as a pitcher.

Did I 'remove the pitcher from the mound' when I tried to rotate them?

1 Answer 1



Removing a pitcher from the mound is any action where the pitcher was the pitcher, and is now no longer the pitcher.

It's worth noting that this is a place (among many), where Little League departs from MLB rules. In MLB rules you can take a pitcher off the mound, make him a field player, and then bring him back to the mound. However, because Little League has free substition, this could (and would) cause managers to abuse pitching changes in a way that isn't keeping with the spirit of the game.

So yes, once a kid has pitched in a little league game, they can't pitch again in that same game, even if they stay out.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.