6

What are the rules that apply when a player makes a double hit ?

4

There is a foul if the player hits the shuttlecock twice in row, except in the case it touches the racket head and the strings in the same shot.

13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a "fault";

Source (in French, sorry : http://www.badminton-web.fr/badminton/regles-badminton.php)

  • Thank you for your answer. I have an additional question, namely: what if the player hits the shuttlecock firstly by throat or shaft and then by the stringed area? – Avyakt May 12 '15 at 13:57
  • I think this is a foul. – LeReferee May 12 '15 at 14:01
  • But you are not sure, right? – Avyakt May 12 '15 at 14:04
  • The exception I pointed out in the only one I found, so I'm not 100% sure but logically, this is a foul. – LeReferee May 12 '15 at 14:05
  • 1
    Maybe they include all the body (except the strings) and not just the racket head... But I jusk looked at the official rules and this is a foul : 13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a "fault"; And the head is connected to the shaft by the throat, so it's not the same thing... Thus, definitely a foul. – LeReferee May 12 '15 at 14:12
4

According the official LAWS OF BADMINTON, set by the Badminton World Federation, chapter 13 is affected: FAULTS. Here the different situations are outlined when it is considered a 'fault' and in paragraph 13.3.8 the following about that is mentioned:

13. FAULTS

It shall be a 'fault':

...

  • 13.3 If in play, the shuttle:

    • ...
    • 13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a 'fault'.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.