If a pitcher is in the wind-up and the ball falls forward out of his hand towards home plate during the pitch is it a ball? or a balk?

1 Answer 1


This depends on whether there are runners on base, and whether the ball crosses a foul line.

When there is (are) runner(s) on base: if the pitcher "drops the ball while on the rubber, even if by accident, if the ball does not subsequently cross a foul line", then it is a balk. However, if the ball does reach the batter and then exit the diamond, then it will be a ball (since it will be obviously below the strike zone).

Interestingly enough, if there is nobody on base, then nothing happens: time is called then and then the play is restarted.

  • 2
    This would be a wonderful answer if you could provide references for the quoted sections.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented May 19, 2015 at 9:59
  • 2
    This is correct, but references would greatly improve your answer.
    – diggers3
    Commented May 19, 2015 at 15:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.