If Mikel Landa finished 2nd in the yesterday's (30 May 2015) stage of Giro d'Italia, both him and Giovanni Visconti would have 125 points in mountains classification. The last stage is flat, no points in mountain classification are given. So in this scenario they would finish both with the same number of points.
- What is used as a secondary criterion if two riders have the same number of points in mountain classification?
- Are the rules the same for all Grand Tours (all races in UCI World Tour)?
Bonus question: Has it ever happened in some important stage race that the winner of mountain classification has to be decided by some additional criterion, as two (or more) riders were tied on points?