This is a question regarding a somewhat hypothetical situation, but one I have been thinking about quite a bit and can't get my head around.
In Cricket, a team can 'Declare' an innings at any time, ending the innings and allowing the other team to come to bat. This is generally done during test matches, as any game that reaches 5 days in length without both teams completing 2 innings would end in a draw - this means that it is not to a teams advantage to carry on after they have already achieved a heavy lead - it is more important to get the other team in so that they can be bowled out.
In Baseball, however unlikely, it seems to me that it would be possible for a team to just keep batting around the order, hitting a potentially infinite number of runs within an inning if the other teams pitchers were so inept that they just couldn't record any outs.
So my question is: Can a Baseball team choose to end an innings? Is there any law in place that would allow an umpire to step in and end it? In fact, is there anything at all that can end an innings other than three outs being recorded?