4

If any batsman or non-striker batsman gets run out on a wide ball, will that ball be counted as a legal delivery, or still be called a wide with extra run ?

7

A wide is always a wide, and always gives one run to the batting team. It doesn't matter if the batsman was out from the ball, whether that be run out, stumped or any of the other ways a batsman can be out from a wide.

This is explicitly covered in Law 25.5:

  1. Penalty for a Wide

A penalty of one run shall be awarded instantly on the call of Wide ball. [...] this penalty shall stand even if a batsman is dismissed, and shall be in addition to any other runs scored, any boundary allowance and any other runs awarded for penalties.

  • Agreed, but any chance of a link to the relevant law? – Fil-let's GoFundMonica Jun 29 '15 at 6:07
  • I thought this would be one of those negative situations which isn't covered by a rulebook, but it turns out that it is in there! – Philip Kendall Jun 29 '15 at 7:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.