In the 2015 Tour the France, the Orica-GreenEDGE team lost three riders in the first few stages. The team time trial only starts on the second Sunday, and as far as I know, the time of the fifth rider counts for the squad.

What happens if they lose two more guys, and will not be able to finish with 5 riders?

  • Based on this answer (which cites UCI regulations) it seems that rules concerning TTT may differ between various races.
    – Martin
    Commented Jul 11, 2015 at 13:51
  • If you meant to ask about TdF specifically, maybe you should add (tour-de-france) tag.
    – Martin
    Commented Jul 11, 2015 at 14:00

2 Answers 2


Since you mentioned Tour de France, here is what I have found about this in Tour de France regulations (Wayback Machine). It is possible that different races have different rules. (This is explicitly mentioned in this answer.)

Article 24: Team time trial stage

... Each team’s classification position on the stage is established by the time set by their fifth rider across the finish line (accuracy is to 1/100th of a second). ...

... In the event where a team no longer has at least 5 riders, those remaining in the race are required to complete the course within the permitted finishing time provided for in Article 22 (Coefficient 6). The time taken into account for the team classification is the time of the final rider to finish recorded 5 times. ...


Whenever a team has less than 5 riders to compete in the TTT, the time of the final rider counts.

I do not have an official source, but this question has been asked quite often over the past few days and this was the answer provided every time.

Furthermore, I believe, but I'm not 100% sure, when one or more of these riders finish out of time, the other riders will get the time of the last rider to finish in time.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.