8

When the ball is being bounced by the goalkeeper from his hands and a player steals it without touching the goalkeeper (while the goalkeeper is not touching the ball) and scores, is it legal or not?

This video shows what I'm talking about.

  • I'm editing the sentence structure here because it was a little unclear to me. If I have completely changed the meaning of your question, please feel free to edit it back. – studro Aug 31 '15 at 4:05
8

No, it is not legal.

On page 122 of the 2015/16 FIFA Laws of the Game:

A goalkeeper is not permitted to keep control of the ball in his hands for more than six seconds. A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball:

  • while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body)
  • while holding the ball in his outstretched open hand
  • while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air

When a goalkeeper has gained possession of the ball with his hands, he cannot be challenged by an opponent.

Also, on page 123:

  • It is an offence for a player to prevent a goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands
  • A player must be penalised for playing in a dangerous manner if he kicks or attempts to kick the ball when the goalkeeper is in the process of releasing it
  • It is an offence to restrict the movement of the goalkeeper by unfairly impeding him, e.g. at the taking of a corner kick

In summary, a single bounce of the ball is not enough to relinquish possession. Before the ball can be challenged for by an opponent, the keeper must have let it bounce away and no longer be able to either kick it (ie. a drop kick) or regather it in their hands or arms before it strikes the ground for a second time.

If the goalkeeper allows the ball to bounce on the ground multiple times, most referees will consider it released and therefore free to be challenged for by an opponent.

As an aside, by standing where he was, the opponent had probably already committed an offence by preventing the goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands (as mentioned in the second quote above), even before he challenged for the ball.

  • 1
    Thanks for your answer, from the rules and explanations there is no doubt it was illegal, and it says the following video is an illegal goal, right? link – argamanza Aug 31 '15 at 14:37
  • I tend to believe that it should have also been disallowed, yes. – studro Sep 1 '15 at 0:36
-3

Players can kick the ball while goalkeeper touched it and put it one the ground or goalkeeper try to air kick you can steal his ball. Definition of Goalkeeper is Keeping the ball with his hand but if he don't then you can steal it. But don't use this skill in little matches when there is not a perfect referries because they don't know do much.

  • Please add references to your answer like the other answer did. – Ram Chandra Giri Jan 18 '18 at 5:41
  • 3
    This answer is wrong. Try to read the Laws of the Game referenced by the other answer. – dly Jan 18 '18 at 7:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.