After the first matches of the 2015 Rugby World Cup there are:

  • winner teams with 5 points
  • winner teams with 4 points
  • loser teams with 2 points
  • loser teams with 1 points
  • loser teams with 0 points

How are points awarded for each match?


1 Answer 1


In common with many of the major domestic leagues, the World Cup is using the concept of "bonus points" in addition to points for a win or draw. The precise details can be seen in section 1.1.2 of the Tournament Rules:

The following number of Match points will be awarded for each pool phase Match:

  • Win 4 points
  • Draw 2 points
  • Loss 0 points
  • 4 or more tries 1 point
  • Loss by 7 points or less 1 point

Therefore the teams with 5 points both won and scored 4 or more tries; the teams with 4 won, but didn't score 4 tries. The team with 2 points lost, but both scored 4 or more tries and lost by 7 points or fewer. Teams with one point lost, and either scored 4 or more tries, or lost by 7 points or fewer. Teams with zero points lost and neither scored 4 tries nor lost by 7 points or fewer.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.