On the Men's side, it's fairly simple & unambiguous. Men's tennis events for the season are classified into 3 tiers. ATP Masters 1000, ATP 500 & ATP 250 in decreasing order of importance based on points.

However, on the Women's side, there seems to be 3 tiers but the events are classified as WTA Premier & WTA international in decreasing order of importance based on points. But at this point it gets ambiguous. Taking into account the recent tournaments, WTA Tokyo(concluded today) & WTA Wuhan(starting today) are listed as WTA Premier events. But WTA Tokyo awards 470 points while WTA Wuhan awards 900 points.

So how can I unambiguously classify WTA events based on tiers? Also please list all the WTA events in a season which are Tier 1(900 points events)

1 Answer 1


In 2009 WTA has reformed categories for tournaments (source).

Since 2009 tournaments are splitted in:

  • 4 Premier Mandatory (1000 points each)
  • 5 Premier 5 (900 points)
  • 12 Premier (470 points)

  • several international tournaments (280 points)

Obiovously the most important tournaments are:

  • 4 Grand Slam (2000 points each)
  • WTA finals (1500 points)

Befor 2009 the tournaments could be: Tier I, Tier II, Tier III, Tier IV

  • It seems WTA, changes the category of events faster than comprehension. They downgraded Tokyo & brought in Wuhan in 2014. They did it with Qatar in 2015 Commented Sep 28, 2015 at 7:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.