Team A hits the volleyball on an attack. Team B attempts to block, sending the ball back across the net to Team A. Team A receives the ball. Is this considered a dig?

Also if Team A attacks the ball and Team B attempts to block causing the ball to remain on Team B's side. Team B then receives the ball. Is this still considered a dig even if it was first touched by the blocker?

  • "Dig" is not actually a term which is used in the official volleyball rules. Why do you think it is important that something may or may not be considered a dig? – Philip Kendall Sep 30 '15 at 21:21

There is no single official worldwide volleyball statistics definition. But we can take a look at a representative comprehensive source for definitions of volleyball statistics: 2015 NCAA Official Volleyball Statistics Rules. Their definition of “dig” is the following (in “Section 4—Digs”):

A dig (D) is awarded when a player passes the ball that has been attacked by the opposition. Digs are given only when players receive an attacked ball and it is kept in play, not when a ball is brought up off a “put back” (blocked ball).

Also, it contains the following approved ruling which perfectly answers both your questions:

Team White player No. 1 attacks the ball. The ball goes off Team Blue player No. 1 and (a) is returned to Team White and passed by Team White player No. 2 or (b) goes to Team Blue player No. 2 who keeps the ball in play.

RULING: In (a), Team Blue player No. 1 is not awarded a block nor is Team White player No. 2 awarded a dig. A block is not considered an attack and therefore a player cannot be given a dig off a block attempt. In (b), Team Blue player No. 1 is not awarded a block but team Blue player No. 2 is awarded a dig.

Which means the answer for your first question is no, this is not a dig. And the answer for your second question is yes, this is still a dig, even though the attack was slowed by the block.

Other official bodies or specific competitions might use a different definition, but I believe the basic principles would be the same.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.