2

In NCAA football, can a receiver tap the ball to another receiver, similar to a volleyball pass. I thought once an offensive receiver touched the ball it was an incomplete pass if a defensive player didn't touch the ball in between.

3

Yes, an eligible receiver may tap or bat the ball. Here is a relevant interpretation from the NCAA Rulebook.

Approved ruling 7-3-6 VIII (Page FI-41)

While airborne and in bounds, eligible receiver A89 touches a forward pass when he propels it toward: (a) eligible receiver A80, who catches the pass; or (b) B27, who intercepts the pass. RULING: Legal play, and the ball remains live in both (a) and (b). A89 has batted a forward pass (Rules 2-4-3, 2-11-3 and 9-4-1-a).

The mentioned 9-4-1-a rule seems especially relevant:

While a pass is in flight, only a player who is eligible to touch the ball may bat it in any direction (Exception: Rule 9-4-2).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.