1

I was watching a Div. I NCAA football game today. A PAT was blocked and one of the defenders picked the ball up. The announcer said that it was a live ball.

What are the possible outcomes in this situation? I believe in the NFL that once a PAT is blocked, the ball is dead.

1

If the ball is in the field of play, it is now a live ball. The defending team can pick it up and run it all the way back for a 2 point conversion. Same thing counts for fumbles and interceptions.

First time it happened when the college rule changed was Kansas State beat Indiana State on a 2 point interception return. https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1290&dat=19910908&id=STBUAAAAIBAJ&sjid=Do0DAAAAIBAJ&pg=3020,3347106&hl=en

protected by Ram Chandra Giri Apr 2 '18 at 10:39

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.