There was the same question for indoor volleyball, but in the case of beach volleyball:

If the other team pass, set, hits it over to me and I kick it and then it hits my chest (but it's only one action/motion) would that count as a double hit fault?

What about if the other team attacks it and I go to set set it and it slips thru my fingers and bounces off my head but it's only one action on my part?

1 Answer 1


The rule you need here is in the 2015-2016 beach volleyball rules:

at the first hit of the team, unless it is played overhand using fingers (exception Rule, the ball may contact various parts of the body consecutively, provided that the contacts occur during one action.

This means that the first example (kicking and then hitting the chest) is not a fault as it was part of one action. However, this exception does not apply to an attempt to play the ball overhand, so the second example (attempting to set and then hitting the face) would be a fault.

Note that even if the attempt to set were successful, that would likely be called a fault due to how the "catch" and "double touch" rules are interpreted in beach volleyball.

  • 1
    Also, if it was a hard-driven attack, you can receive overhand and you can even hold the ball momentarily and it would not be a catch fault.
    – Mormegil
    Oct 19, 2015 at 14:34
  • I know - but I don't think I've ever seen an example of that rule being applied.
    – Philip Kendall
    Oct 19, 2015 at 14:41
  • Oh, I believe it is applied all the time, almost every time a hard-driven attack is received overhand. In this situation, the player is allowed to stop the ball by slightly “squeezing” it in hands or going down and up with the ball a bit. (Otherwise, it would be really hard to control the ball. But in other situations, that would be a catch.) I am unable to find a good real-life video example on YouTube, only a mention of this in youtube.com/watch?v=JTS917r8XVg
    – Mormegil
    Oct 20, 2015 at 16:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.